020 7267 0975
  • Home
  • 24 Haverstock Hill
  • Chalk Farm
  • London
  • NW3 2BQ

The Governing Body

The Governing Body

The governing body at Haverstock school includes four parent and nine co-opted governors, a local authority governor, one staff governor and the headteacher (total 16 governors). Together the role of the governing body is to help shape the overall direction and character of the school, monitor progress and standards, review and approve the budget, appoint and support the headteacher and senior staff, review policies and procedures and ensure the school fulfils its statutory duties.

The key priorities for the governing body this year are: raising attainment and achievement for all students; improving behaviour to learn, steering the school through its financial challenges, and developing the school culture and ethos.

The governing body meets regularly, and non-staff governors also visit the school, making contact with the different departments and attending events and performances. The governing body welcomes contact with all those involved in the school and will be happy to hear your views on any matters of concern – please email us.

Could You be our Next School Governor?

All parents have been invited to consider applying for the Parent Govenor vacancy on our governing body. Parents putting themselves forward should submit a nomination form by the 23 February deadline.

If you’d like to find out what’s involved, Chair of Governors Alison Lowton is hosting an open meeting in our Conference Room at 5.30pm, Wednesday 21 February. Current Parent Governors, Elshaymaa Molokhia and Wasim Ahmed, will also be there to share their own experience. There’s no need to book; just come along on 21 February and find out more.

Nomination form
Parent Governor election procedure
Qualifications and disqualifications for serving as a School Governor

Governor Details

See the full list of govenors here

Governor Interests

Register of governors' Interests 2017-18

Governor Attendance

Governors' meetings attendance

List of Governors

Clerk to Governing Body
Pete McGuigan

Co-opted Governors (9)
Paul Bowers Isaacson
Andrew Heffernan
Alison Lowton (Chair of the Governing Body)
Sarah McMorrine
Helen Roberts
Benjamin Seifert
Lynne Warnock
Elizabeth Wilson

Parent Governors (4)
Wasim Ahmed
Amanda Graham
Elshaymaa Molokhia (Vice Chair of the Governing Body)

Local Authority Governor (1)

Headteacher (1)
James Hadley

Staff Governor (1)
Lisa Smith

Full Governing Body Meeting Dates

28 September 2017
9 November 2017
11 January 2018
1 March 2018
21 June 2018
19 July 2018


Michael Kenward, Deputy Headteacher
Lisa Mills, Deputy Headteacher
Sarah Hide, Deputy Headteacher
Martin Hesketh, Director of Finance & Operations